six steps on how to secure your facebook account

share on:

Follow these steps below: for six steps on how to secure your facebook account

1: See your profile as others see it
Once you know how forthcoming your current
Facebook setup is, you can decide what
changes you need to make to your share
settings. To view your account as others view
it, sign into your account, choose the gear
icon in the top-right corner, click Privacy
Settings, and select Timeline and Tagging in
the left pane.
Next, click View As to the right of “Review
what other people see on your timeline” in
the “Who can see things on my timeline?”
section. Click Okay to close the pop-up
window, if necessary. Your timeline will then
appear as the public sees it.
If you’ve limited access to your timeline to
friends only, the public will see only your
profile and cover photos, a link for contacting
you (which you can limit to friends of
friends), the people you’re following, and the
groups you belong to. To view your profile as
a particular person sees it, click View as
Specific Person at the top of the window and
enter the person’s name.
To change who can view your timeline, return
to Facebook’s Timeline and Tagging settings
and click Edit to the right of “Who can see
posts you’ve been tagged in on your
timeline?” and “Who can see what others
post on your timeline?” Make your selections
for each setting on their drop-down menus
and then click Close.

2: Make sure you’re browsing securely.
Last month Facebook made secure browsing
the default for all users. To ensure you’re
using a secure connection whenever one is
available, click Security in the left pane of
Facebook’s Account Settings and make sure
Secure Browsing is enabled.
The security settings also let you enable log-
in notifications and approvals, and view and
edit your recognized devices and active
sessions. To remove a device, click Edit to
the right and then Remove next to the
device’s entry. Likewise, to end one or all
active Facebook sessions, click Edit to the
right of Active Sessions and choose End
Activity or End All Activity, respectively.

3: Limit access to you and your
Facebook stuff
To restrict access to your past and future
Facebook posts, click Privacy in the left pane
of the Account Settings. Then choose Limit
Past Posts under “Who can see my posts?”
and Edit to the right of “Who can see your
future posts?” in the same section. A
warning appears when you attempt to limit
access to all your past posts at once rather
than changing the setting post-by-post.
The options under “Who can contact me?” let
you limit friend requests and filter the
messages you receive. You can also restrict
who can look you up by e-mail address and
phone number, who can look up your
timeline by name, and whether your timeline
will link to search engines.

4: Tame your timeline and tags
You’ve already determined who can view your
timeline (see step one), but you can also
block friends from adding to your timeline
and review photos someone attempts to tag
you in via the Timeline and Tagging Settings.
The only two options for “Who can post to my
timeline?” under “Who can add things to my
timeline?” are Friends and Only Me. To
enable review of posts your tagged in before
they appear on your timeline, click Edit to
the right of the entry and select Enable in
the drop-down menu.
Under “How can I manage tags people add
and tagging suggestions?” you can enable
the feature that allows you to review tags
people add to your own posts before they
appear, set who besides the normal audience
sees the posts you’re tagged in, and decide
whether tag suggestions appear when photos
that look like you are uploaded.

5: Don’t let your apps run amok
Some Facebook apps grab all the permissions
they can, including access to your
information and the ability to post photos
and status updates “on your behalf.” For
example, the IFTTT app lays claim to your
complete profile and all your activities, as
well as some of the profile and activities of
your friends.
To review your Facebook app permissions,
click Apps in the left pane of the Account
Settings window, choose Edit to the right of
the app’s entry, and either change the app’s
visibility via the drop-down menu, or click
“Remove app” at the bottom of the entry.
You can also click “Report app” to let
Facebook know the app is spam,
inappropriate, or requesting too much
information, or to contact the developer to
report a bug or abusive content, or for
another reason.
To prevent other Facebook users from
volunteering your information to the
Facebook apps they use, click Edit to the
right of “Apps others use,” uncheck the
categories of information listed, and click
Save Changes.

6: Opt out of Facebook ads
Facebook currently doesn’t let third-party
apps or ad networks use your image or name
in ads, but that may change in the future.
To opt out ahead of time, click Ads in the
left pane of the Account Settings window and
choose Edit in the Third Party Sites section.
Select “No one” in the drop-down menu
under “If we allow this in the future, show
my information to” and then click Save
To exclude yourself from Facebook’s social
ads, click Edit in the Ads & Friends section,
choose “No one” on the drop-down menu
next to “Pair my social actions with ads for,”
and select Save Changes.

share on:


My name is Joshua Ibenegbu O. i am a young online entrepreneur,Promoter and a blogger who love sharing information regarding online technology.internet has paved ways for me to share my ideas with other people around the can always visit my website to learn more tips on internet and computer technology . You want to work with me.Follow us on facebook9ijaextra And Google + Gentleprince

1 Comment

  1. emena kapoies fores apla gyneari to blema tou alle fore me koitaei epimona episeis einai olo me kopeles kai go zileuo alla otan kai go eima me tous filous mou ton exo dei na neyriazei kapoies fores omos mou fenete ligo adiafores ti na synbenei arage????? +7Was this answer helpful?

Leave a Response

share on: